Montgomery County Drug DUI Attorney

Defending Montgomery County clients arrested for a DUI with a controlled substance

Being arrested for a controlled substance can be a terrible event that can impact one’s future immensely. If a person was to get caught driving a vehicle under the influence of a controlled substance, they could face a DUI like anyone else driving a car when they shouldn’t. A conviction can lead to a criminal charge with consequences, including the potential for jail time, a license suspension, and more. For over 25 years, The Conner Law Group has provided forthright and effective criminal defense for clients charged with DUIs in Southeastern Pennsylvania. If you are charged with a PA drug DUI, contact The Conner Law Group for a consultation to discuss your legal matter.

PA drugged driving DUI explained

According to the state, a person can be arrested for a DUI for a controlled substance if blood tests find any amount of a Schedule I drug or any amount of an unsubscribed Schedule II or III drug. A person can be arrested for a DUI if they are found to be under the influence of any drugs to the degree that impairs their ability to drive safely or caught under the influence of a combination of drugs and alcohol. Furthermore, in Pennsylvania, if you are tested for drugs and found to have cannabis metabolites in your blood, which could linger for weeks, you could be arrested for a DUI depending on the concentration.

PA drugged driving consequences

In Pennsylvania, a controlled substance DUI comes with the same consequences as a Highest BAC DUI. Accordingly, below is a quick synopsis of the consequences for a drugged DUI in Pennsylvania.

First-offense Controlled Substance DUI

  • Ungraded misdemeanor charge
  • License suspension for 12 months
  • 3 days to 6 months of jail time
  • Fine between $1,000 to $5,000
  • Alcohol highway safety school
  • Possible mandatory treatment

Second Controlled Substance DUI

  • First-degree misdemeanor charge
  • License suspension for 18 months
  • 90 days to 5 years of jail time
  • Fine between $1,500 to $10,000
  • Alcohol highway safety school
  • Possible mandatory treatment
  • 1-year ignition interlock

Third and Subsequent Controlled Substance DUI

  • First-degree misdemeanor charge
  • License suspension for 18 months
  • 1-5 years of jail time
  • Fine between $2,500 to $10,000
  • Alcohol highway safety school
  • Possible mandatory treatment when ordered
  • 1-year ignition interlock

Contact an experienced DUI defense attorney to defend you

The Conner Law Group has over 25 years of experience defending Pennsylvania residents charge with a DUI for controlled substances. It is imperative that you retain the services of a skilled attorney when facing such significant legal matters. Our firm is ready to assess your case, explore defenses that can free you of these charges, and fight zealously for you in court. For a consultation with a dedicated and effective criminal defense attorney, contact The Conner Law Group.