Montgomery County First DUI Attorney

Defending clients arrested for a DUI in Pennsylvania

Being charged with a DUI in Pennsylvania is a serious matter. If you have been arrested for a DUI, you have a lot to consider as the state and law enforcement do not take drinking and driving lightly. In Pennsylvania, driving laws regarding alcohol continue to get harsher. A DUI conviction can significantly impact your future. Having the right attorney is in your best interest when facing such a substantial legal matter. For over 25 years, The Conner Law Group has provided effective and zealous legal representation for clients in Montgomery County and all Southeastern PA. Our firm has the experience needed to help mitigate the effects of a DUI conviction or fight the charges altogether. If you need to discuss your legal matter with an effective law firm, contact the Conner Law Group.

Pennsylvania DUI Laws

If you have been pulled over and arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol, you have a lot to consider. DUI laws in Pennsylvania are based on the driver’s Blood Alcohol Content (BAC). The only scientific way to determine if a driver is over the legal limit is by assessing one’s BAC through a breath or chemical test. In PA, the legal limit to drive is 0.08% BAC, down from a previous 0.10% BAC, changed in 2003. If you are determined to be over the legal limit, you face a range of penalties depending on your BAC at the time you were assessed. If you refuse a test, you could be subject to the penalties of a Highest BAC charge, seen below.

Penalties for a first offense DUI in Pennsylvania

If you are charged with a first-offense DUI, you need to contact a lawyer immediately. Depending on your BAC, you will face a different set of repercussions.

General Impairment: .08 to .099% BAC, Undetermined BAC

  • Ungraded misdemeanor
  • Probation up to 6 months
  • Fine of $300
  • Engagement in the alcohol highway safety school
  • Possible mandatory treatment

High BAC: .10 to .159% BAC

  • Ungraded misdemeanor
  • License suspension of 12-months
  • Imprisonment of 48 hours to 6 months
  • Fine of $500-$5000
  • Engagement in the alcohol highway safety school
  • Possible mandatory treatment

Highest BAC: Greater than .16%

  • Ungraded misdemeanor
  • License suspension of 12-months
  • Imprisonment of 72 hours to 6 months
  • Fine of $1000-$5000
  • Engagement in the alcohol highway safety school
  • Possible mandatory treatment

Contact an experienced Montgomery County DUI attorney

With over 25 years of experience, The Conner Law Group is the right attorney for your legal needs. Experience matters. Our firm has handled countless DUI cases and successfully fought for the future of many clients facing these serious consequences. If you are arrested for DUI and convicted, your life could be seriously impacted. A conviction could affect your livelihood, housing, and much more. Our firm is ready to assess your situation, explore all legal defenses to fight the charges, and effectively represent you. To schedule a consultation to discuss your legal matter with a knowledgeable and skillful attorney, contact The Conner Law Group as soon as possible.