Montgomery County Second DUI Attorney

Defending clients arrested for a second Pennsylvania DUI

Being arrested for a DUI in Pennsylvania is a significant legal matter. Your life can be seriously affected by a conviction. If you are arrested for a second DUI, it could be devastating. You could face escalating consequences, including fines, license suspension, and even jail. The facts of your stop can be a major part of your defense and the right attorney will explore all means to free you of these charges. The courts of Pennsylvania are hostile towards those who drink and drive, especially those who are caught subsequent times. A second DUI deserves the attention of an experienced, effective criminal defense attorney. For over 25 years, The Conner Law Group has zealously represented clients across the state of Pennsylvania. If you are facing a second DUI, contact our firm. We will passionately represent your legal needs. For a consultation, contact The Conner Law Group.

Second DUI offense

If you have been caught driving under the influence for the second time in Pennsylvania, it is important to understand the consequences you face. The penalties for a second offense depend greatly on your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC), assessed through a breath or chemical test. The legal limit in Pennsylvania is 0.08% BAC, down from the previous 0.10% prior to 2003. Those who refuse the test will be subject to the highest BAC penalties.

Second offense General Impairment DUI

General impairment is the term used to describe a BAC level between 0.08% and 0.099% or an undetermined BAC. According to Pennsylvania, the consequences for a second general impairment charge includes:

  • An ungraded misdemeanor charge
  • License suspension for 12 months
  • Jail time between 5 days to 6 months
  • A fine between $300 to $2,500
  • 1 year of ignition interlock
  • Alcohol highway safety school
  • Possible mandatory treatment

Second offense High BAC DUI

In Pennsylvania, High BAC is the term used to describe a BAC level between 0.10% to 0.159%. The consequences escalate as the BAC is greater. The penalties for a second offense High BAC DUI include:

  • An ungraded misdemeanor charge
  • License suspension for 12 months
  • Jail time between 30 days to 6 months
  • A fine between $750 to $5,000
  • 1 year of ignition interlock
  • Alcohol highway safety school
  • Possible mandatory treatment

Second offense Highest BAC DUI

A highest BAC DUI is a very serious matter. If you are caught driving a car with a BAC of 0.16% and higher, you face very serious consequences, including:

  • A first-degree misdemeanor charge
  • License suspension for 18 months
  • Jail time between 90 days to 5 years
  • A fine between $1,500 to $10,000
  • 1 year of ignition interlock
  • Alcohol highway safety school
  • Possible mandatory treatment

Contact an experienced Montgomery County DUI attorney

If you are charged with a second DUI in Pennsylvania, you need an effective attorney to help you develop a legal strategy to avoid these charges. The Conner Law Group has over 25 years of experience helping clients through all criminal matters. A DUI can seriously impact your life. When you meet with our firm, we will assess the facts of the stop, exploring all legal defenses. We are dedicated to your future and will zealously defend you in court. For a consultation, contact The Conner Law Group.